Posted by: rangerant | February 10, 2015

Grab a coffee for a chat

So, as I slowly draw to the end of the Storm trilogy, I thought I would take a break from the intensity of the finale to have a chat and a cup of coffee (or tea) with you all. So, if you are curious about my writing, or just about me, why not ask me a question or two and I’ll do my best to answer it for you.

It could be about my writing, my influences, my favourite books – my hobbies, or even what TV and Films I like.

To start the ball rolling, Iย  generally prefer a cup of tea to a coffee, usually Welsh Brew, with milk and two sugars ๐Ÿ™‚ and, of course, a lovely Welsh Cake.

 

 

Responses

  1. OK, I’ll bite. ๐Ÿ™‚ Is the manuscript nearly ready for proofreading? Oh, and what is a Welsh Cake?

  2. Welsh cakes are amazing and don’t taste like anything else! You make dough and cook the cakes on a hot frying pan. Is Welsh Brew a brand?
    I have two questions.
    Are you Welsh?!
    How did you break the writing barrier? The false starts, lack of perseverance, etc. That is, assuming you faced these things! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Hi Emma. They (Welsh Cakes) certainly are wonderful, going to be having one (or two) with my mid-morn cuppa today ๐Ÿ™‚

      In amswer to your questions, I have lived in Wales for four years now and whilst I was born in Berkshire, I love Wales, its people and way of life here (Welsh Brew is a brand of tea from Wales – not sure if it is available outside Cymru).

      It was my wife Amy, who helped me break that barrier, give me the confidence I needed to take that next step from having it sat on my laptop, to believing that I may have a story other people would like to read. Up to that point, the only real tentative step I had taken was to send, many years before, the first chapter of Whispers off to be critiqued (it was a short story back then and bare bones compared to how it appears in the book) – I had a reply saying if I could flesh out the story some more, I would have a very readable piece of fiction… so that was a big boost – but then, as life always has a way of doing, it got firmly in the way.
      I struggled with balancing a full-time job and writing Shadows of a Storm, which is why, sadly, it took a lot longer to arrive – but since Nov 13, I have been part-time and that is why things have started to happen a lot quicker now. I have a routine at last.

      My real barrier now, is me. I am my own worst critic and I beat myself up probably far too much over all the promotion I have to do for even one person to become aware of me. It means a lot to me when people read my book (whether they like it or not) and it keeps me going through the dark days of self-doubt.
      I have a literary agent, also, which is such a boost to my confidence and it keeps me going on my path, which at times can be a lonely one.
      But I wouldn’t change any of it for a second ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

Categories

