Posted by: rangerant | August 2, 2012

Favourite fantasy character?

There have been many heroic and dastardly characters in the fantasy novels I have read and I am trying to think, if it is possible, which one of them is my favourite. Different books and different characters have inspired me at various stages of my life and it’s proving to be a bit like choosing your favourite film, dificult.

So I thought I would throw this question out to you all? I’ll list a few of my favourites and see where we go with this….

From an early age, whislt reading the Lord of the Rings trilogy, I was immediately drawn to the characters of Strider and Boromir. Strider’s battle with his heritage, his selfless bravery and the fact that he was a ranger, appealed to me greatly, as did Boromir, the brave man of Gondor, whose own personal struggle to protect his people and fight against the lure and call of the One Ring, which ultimately led to his brave, honourable death.
The inspiration from characters like that subconsciously inspire me with my own characters. There are many, many more, and I’ll list a few to begin with now:-

Garet Jax (Terry Brooks: The Wishsong of Shannara)

Druss (David Gemmell: Legend)

Drizzt Do’Urden (RA Salvatore: The Crystal Shard)

Waylander (David Gemmell: Waylander)

Tika Waylan (Margaret Weis/Tracy Hickman: Dragons of Autumn Twilight)

Beltzer (David Gemmell: Quest for Lost Heroes)

Morrigan (David Gemmell: Knights of Dark Renown)

Leave a Reply

Categories

